Zahra’s Top Exchange Experiences

Zahra Didarali

When and what did you study at the University of Leeds?

I studied Earth Sciences from January to June 2017.

What was your favourite module?

My favourite module was Sustainable Development in Practice (SOEE3780) because it allowed me to engage and think critically about real world problems.

What did you study here that you wouldn’t be able to study at your home university?

Zahra Didarali 3I studied pretty much what I would be studying at my home university (BSc in Geology and Environmental Science) however the module selection vary and are different.

What is your favourite aspect of life on campus?

It would be hard to pick out one favourite aspect about life on campus, but I really looked forward to the Farmers Market that took place every Mondays. I also like how the university has many study spaces for students.

What’s your favourite place on campus?

My favourite place on campus is the sustainable garden.

What is your favourite tourist attraction or place to visit?

My favourite tourist attraction is Kirkstall Abbey. Is it a place rich in history and a perfect place to unwind and relax.

What is your favourite social activity on campus?

I really enjoy listening to live music, watching musicals and going to food markets.

Did you visit any other UK cities?

Brighton was one place I thoroughly enjoyed because it reminded me a little bit of Capetown. Edinburgh was also a city I absolutely fell in love with.

by Zahra Didarali – Rhodes University – South Africa


Leave a comment