Kyle’s Memories of Leeds

When did you study in Leeds as an exchange student, and what subjects did you study?

Kyle Norton 1

I studied at the University of Leeds during the fall semester of 2011. While I was a business student back at my home institution in the States, I chose to diversify my study abroad courses to be more culturally appropriate. Therefore, I chose to study European Politics, Traditional Alcoholic Beverages, Sexuality Stigma & Subculture, and the Psychology of Sports.

What made you choose Leeds as your study abroad destination?

I had a myriad of options to choose from when deciding on my study abroad experience, but only Leeds seemed to offer a combination of a world class education, highly ranked student union, affordable cost of living, and small-city feel with big-city options, in addition to some of the most polite people in the UK – and the world! Needless to say, it was a no brainer.

What was your favourite module?

My favourite module was Sexuality, Stigma, and Subculture. There were so many interesting conversations, the instructor was phenomenal, and getting to hear perspectives on these topics from citizens from around the world, it made for an eye-opening learning experience. Definitely would not have had those opinions from only American students.

Where was your favourite place on campus?

My favourite aspect of life on campus was the support and sense of pride of the student body itself. My favourite place is the Parkinson Steps – an iconic spot and a super easy location to meet up with mates.  Unfortunately, I was too busy exploring Leeds, the UK, and other parts of Eastern Europe to get too involved with clubs or societies, but the options were there if I wanted to take advantage of them!

What was your favourite place to visit in Leeds?

I thought that Clarence Dock was a nifty place to visit. Old history with the Royal Armouries but also new modern flare with the new flats, restaurants, and shops.

Did you visit other cities in the UK or Europe as a study abroad student?

I took the opportunity to visit several cKyle Norton 2ities and countries during my time as a study abroad student, including but not limited to: Liverpool, London, Dublin, Rome, Florence, Barcelona, Paris, Stockholm, and Amsterdam.

What are you doing now, and how do you think your study abroad experience prepared you for your career?

Currently I work in the law industry as the Strategic Practice Manager for a Practice Group that handles sexual/gender-based misconduct that occurs primarily at educational institutions (you can probably see the link between my career and my favourite course at Leeds). I am confident that my experiences at Leeds opened up my mind to entertaining different ways of how to think and accept societal differences from the viewpoint of my new found professors and mates from around the world.  I have taken this profound experience and applied it to virtually all aspects of my life (relationships, personal decision-making, etc.) and of course, specifically, my career.

by Kyle Norton – Drexel University – USA

Leave a Reply

