Leeds International Summer School 2022: Student Experience Blog by Disha Prabhu

Hello folks! My name is Disha, and I attend the University of Toronto in Canada.

With the first week of classes ending at my university, I found myself reminiscing on my time at the Leeds International Summer School, especially my first day there. I attended the four-week programme, and to be honest, I was afraid that I would not acclimate well and have trouble making friends. You might have the same worries, so I wanted to share some tips on what to do during your first day and week at LISS!

1. Get to the University of Leeds as early as possible.

Check-in day runs during the afternoon, but I would recommend getting there early. If you are flying on the day of move-in, take advantage of the free airport transport service that is stationed at select airports in England! In my experience, I was in Liverpool a few days prior to the summer school, so I took the earliest train possible to arrive at check-in in time! It definitely gets busy towards the evening times, so if you come late, you might miss out on some fun activities.

2. Talk to your roommate or anyone you meet.

For most rooms at Charles Morris Hall, students share a bathroom with another student. This is a great chance to get to know your neighbour! If that’s not possible, then go up to someone who is also attending LISS and ask their name, what country they are from, what they’re studying, and see if you have any modules if common. Ask about their interests, and other common icebreaker questions. You never know if you have something in common with someone else unless you ask!

3. Attend the welcome activities.

During my first weekend at LISS, I attended the welcome activities, such as campus and library tours, icebreaker socials, grocery trips, and the city chase. These are amazing options to meet more people, and these activities are where I met some of my best friends who I am still in contact with today.

4. What to eat on the first day.

If you are not able to attend the groceries trip and are in a panic on what to feed yourself, the LISS team had provided a welcome box filled with goodies, such as rice, soy sauce, ramen, etc. These are a great option if you are on a budget. There are also restaurants located across the Parkinson building, such as Flames, Rustica, and even a Subway!

5. Take advantage of the resources available to you.

Overall, take it easy! Studying abroad is an experience that is invaluable, so make the most of your time at LISS! The Storm Jameson check-in counter will handle all your inquiries and requests regarding accommodation. The LISS team and social assistants are absolutely lovely people and were willing to help whenever we needed it! Use the library resources and LISS guides to determine how to make the best possible experience in Leeds.

I hope these tips will help you in getting settled at the Leeds International Summer School. Remember, even though you are there to study, this is also an opportunity to broaden you horizons, learn new skills, and build a community with a great group of people.

Good luck!

Disha Prabhu


Leave a comment