Leeds International Summer School 2023: Student Experience Blog by Saw Henry

By Saw Henry, Nanyang Technological University

If I had to describe Leeds International Summer School (LISS) in one word, it would be “Phenomenal”. LISS was an unforgettable experience, from making friends with students from different parts of the world to experiencing the cultures that Leeds had to offer. I have no regrets leaving sunny Singapore and flying 14 hours to Leeds.  LISS provided students with a cohesive experience where we not only study, but also had fun and explored what England had to offer. This year, we had the largest cohort with students hailing from United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, Denmark, Japan and many more – a melting pot, allowing for cultural exchange and instilling students with a global mindset.

Apart from studying, there were lots of socials and excursion planned allowing students to have fun, get to know each other better and explore the country. To name a few socials that was memorable: Karaoke night and Hyde Park movie night. For excursion, without hesitation, it would have to be Ilkley and Whitby. The view at Ilkley Moor Cow & Calf Rocks was breath taking – a sight that cannot be seen in my home country. Whitby was stunning as well; My friends & I enjoyed having Fish & Chips. A big shout out to the Social Assistants for all the planning and making the long journey to the locations more enjoyable by playing British Hits and striking a conversation with us.

I could keep going on about my time at LISS but I will just keep it short and sweet. The summer school is an experience that I will hold close to my heart. In some way, it was a big milestone for me as it allowed me to step out of my comfort zone. I have no regrets signing up for LISS – I left the program with many memories and new friends from different parts of the world. I am looking forward to visiting them in their home country and seeing them again in the future.


Leave a comment