Leeds International Summer School 2022: Student Experience Blog by Goeun Kim

Hello, this is Goeun Kim (Kate Kim) from South Korea, and I participated LISS 2022 for two weeks, from July 17th to 30th. Overall, LISS 2022 taught me so much, in various aspects. It was such a wonderful experience that I cannot compare to any other things I have done in my past. I wanted to share this experience of mine and what I have learned through this program so that I can encourage others to participate in future LISS program.

First, people in the University of Leeds, including LISS team, and social assistants are so helpful and kind. From the online registration process, LISS team was so helpful, making the process easy. Through multiple online pre-sessions, you are given all the information you should know before the program starts. When I arrived to UK, they even provided free transport service from Manchester Airport to the university, which I found so helpful. After the program starts, the social assistants were happy to help LISS students, which made the whole experience much more enjoyable. They try their best for LISS students to have a great moment in Leeds, which I appreciated. Do not worry too much about the process of participating in LISS, there are amazing people in the university who will be happy to help you.

Second, I met so many great people through the program, and I was able to make beautiful friendships around the world. 14 days may sound too short to make new friends, but you can make so many great friends in those days! You will be able to go on excursions to amazing places around the city Leeds with them, do fun social activities with them, and after two weeks, you will have made a strong bond with the new friends you met in LISS. This program gives you a valuable opportunity to make friends from different countries and cultures, and a chance to be surrounded by amazing international students who you can learn a lot from.

Third, I was able to do many things for the first time in my life. This was my first time to be in Europe, speak English in English-speaking country, take plane alone, and take academic class in different country. Each of these small new experiences taught me who I am and gave me chance to think about my future.

Overall, LISS was an amazing experience, and I highly recommend you to experience it if you are looking for a chance to study abroad for a short time or to spend your summer in an unforgettable way. Hope you enjoy LISS as much as I did, and have great time there.


Leave a comment