Why LISS – Hawarina, Universitas Medan Area (LISS Champion 2022)

Hello everyone! My name is Hawarina Simbolon, people usually call me Hawa, I will be attending LISS Block 2 as a Champion. Recently, I am a final year business management student at Universitas Medan Area, Indonesia.  

I like to do a lot of things, like ride my bike, watch movies, read, and even travel. Traveling has helped me improve my people skills and grow my network. I also like travelling because it gives me a chance to meet new people, learn about different cultures, the history of a country, or even learn the language of that country. I can also enjoy what I call the beauty of nature when I travel. 

I can say that England is a long way from my country, Indonesia. It takes more than 14 hours, at least. But my parents always told me to “look for chances to learn and grow as much as possible. “Go beyond the shores, learn more, get more experience, and live a life you will remember.” This sentence has always inspired me so much. 

I always wanted to go to England since I was a child, but I’ve never been there. I chose England as my dream list country to visit because I like everything about it, including the country, the language, and the culture. 

Furthermore, I chose the University of Leeds because, according to the QS World Rankings 2022, it is one of the top 100 universities in the world. Leeds is ranked 9th in the UK for business and economics. I am also very interested in the value of this program and what it’s like to live in the UK.  

When it comes to business, management, and technology, United Kingdom is also one of the most inventive in the world. With meeting my new LISS friends from all over the world, I want to learn about different cultures and how to get along with people from other countries. I also think that going to Leeds International Summer School (LISS) will help me grow as a person and deal with challenges in a diverse and multicultural setting. 

I’ve always wanted to go abroad to study, especially before I got my bachelor’s degree. Now, in less than a week, I’ll be in England as part of the LISS, which is very exciting, and I can’t wait to feel what it’s like to be a LISS student! 

That’s all I have to say about myself, If you want to reach out and know me/the LISS Championship better, feel free to contact me through my Instagram account at @hawarinaa. Thank you and see you at other opportunities! 😊 

With love, 

Hawa  


Leave a comment