Leeds International Summer School 2023: Student Experience Blog by Joris Saby

By Joris Saby, Université Jean Moulin Lyon III, France

From my personal experience, Leeds International Summer School is and may be the best trip I’ve made this year. As I am writing, I don’t know where to start to explain this incredible experience. At first, I discovered this short international program on my university’s website, and I wanted to try it. I saw statements from previous students saying that it is something fantastic; they were not lying. Firstly, I attended the conferences about the program to be prepared and to know what to expect. My acceptation letter received, and my plane tickets ordered, I was ready to head to Leeds to live my experience on my own. Honestly, I didn’t know what I was getting into but for sure, LISS changed me forever. It got me out of my comfort zone, I felt alive in a way that I’ll remember. I mean, I am used to go on vacations with friends or family, but it’s not so disorienting because I am not alone, but there, you are on your own and Leeds was a break from my usual routine. 

When I arrived, I was quickly destabilized because of the dimension of the campus. Indeed, I am not used to have so many buildings in my campus at home and I must admit I was lost for the first days. But don’t worry, the social assistants are here to guide you by organizing campus tour and also to help you if have any questions. 

The program is worth it, classes are from Monday to Thursday, from 9:30 to 12:30. On Fridays there are usually excursions all day. I studied ‘Criminal Law: The Path to Justice and Legal Skills’ for the first two weeks, then I chose ‘Introduction to psychology: emotion, perception and cognition’. It was interesting and my teachers were great. As I am a law student back in my country, I wanted to have classes connected to law. But remember that you are not forced to choose courses connected to those that you are studying back home, it depends on your university. 

During my free time, I spent the rest of my time going to the Edge (sport center), exercising in the weight room, swimming and my friends and I also booked a court to play badminton and basketball. I also spent the rest of my time hanging out with my friends, having dinners outside, partying and going on excursions. I went to Ripon, Liverpool, Whitby, York and other cities, it was amazing because each city has its characteristic: for example, Liverpool is known thanks to the Beatles, York is known thanks to Vikings…

 

Also, many social events are organized, and this is the opportunity to meet new people from different parts of the world. That’s how I met my friends 🙂 

In the middle of July, there’s a free weekend to allow students to travel wherever they want outside the Liss program. That’s why I had the chance to go to Edinburgh for one weekend. 

I would say that only the first three hours when I got there were hard, I missed home and my family, but I quickly made incredible friends that I know for sure I will see again. All I can say is that if one day you have the chance to leave alone for a short period in a foreign country, just do it because everyone should try this experience, at least once in their lives. If I could, I would restart this experience a thousand times. This was the best decision that I’ve ever made. Liss allowed me to immerse myself into the British culture and I really enjoyed it


Leave a comment