Leeds International Summer School 2023: Student Experience Blog by Marynard J. Rosario

What’s the best way to enjoy summer? Attending Leeds International Summer School!

Who would have thought that a single advertisement made by my home university
while scrolling randomly on Facebook would lead me to experience one of the best summers I
had in my life? Not me, for sure. But as they say, things will fall into place when it is really for
you, even when you least expect it. I attended the Leeds International Summer School for two
weeks last July 2023, and I have to say, it is one of the best decisions I have made so far. I was
really nervous at first since it was my first time traveling alone – not to mention to the other
side of the world- but it turns out I was not the only one! Everyone else was just like me,
nervous but hopeful to make the best of their experience.

I chose the course “Ethics for Business and Society” mainly because I aimed to discover
new values and insights and develop my cultural sensitivity, which is very much related and
essential to my course, Behavioral Sciences. Little did I know that I would not only learn new
knowledge from the thought-provoking discussions and conversations inside the classroom
but also experience first-hand the British culture outside of the lecture halls, which allowed me
to become open-minded and create a more nuanced view of the world. LISS provided
excursions that allowed me to visit different historical places and beautiful towns that
showcase the beauty and culture of the UK, such as going to the first Marks & Spencer store in
Kirkgate Market, hiking in Bolton Abbey, visiting the Harewood House, and riding a boat in
Whitby and eating fish and chips. Aside from that, I made the most out of my afternoons and
weekends exploring Leeds and its nearby towns like Knaresborough, Hebden Bridge, and York
with my newfound friends.

Every day in Leeds was an opportunity to meet new people from around the globe. It is
fascinating how people from different corners of the world, each with unique cultures and
backgrounds, come and bond together as if we have known each other for years. Seeing how
we evolved from being total strangers to instant best friends in just a few hours was amazing. I
cannot simply forget having a simple group dinner inside the kitchen, exploring cute shops and
local restaurants with them, going on numerous spontaneous night-outs, and having late-night
conversations about anything under the sun after spending the whole day together. It was so
fun having lunch together after class and spontaneously planning where to go after. As the
program came to an end, it was a bittersweet feeling because while I am so grateful for all the
good memories I had during my stay in Leeds, I was really sad since it was already time to part
ways with my newly found friends and go back to our own lives. However, the experiences and
memories we all created together will forever be etched in my heart.

It’s been six months since my Leeds International Summer School experience, but it
feels like yesterday. Looking back on my memories now, joining LISS not only expanded my
knowledge academically but also broadened my perspectives on things. Two weeks is indeed
very short, but I really had fun and made the most out of it. My stay in Leeds had become more
than just a destination; it was a place that opened a lot of opportunities where I discovered the
beauty of different cultures, the joy of learning new things and actually enjoying them, and the
pleasure of meeting new people and forming lifelong friendships with them that goes beyond
cultural differences and language barriers.

If you’re going to ask me if traveling for 21 hours from the Philippines to the UK was
worth it? Yes, definitely! Participating in LISS 2023 was not just about studying – it was an
adventure of what the world has to offer, and opportunities like this open the door to a lifetime
of unforgettable experiences. I’d say go for it, and may your experience be as magical as mine.


Leave a comment