Leeds International Summer School 2023: Student Experience Blog by Gerald Chan

Hello everyone! I’m Gerald and I am a student in the National University of Singapore.

LISS has been an absolutely amazing and these 4 weeks will definitely have a special place in my heart. At first, as someone rather sheltered, I was sceptical about travelling alone halfway across the globe. However, after thorough research through the LISS Instagram and YouTube channel, the anecdotes from previous students convinced me to take this incredible leap of faith. Thereafter, a welcome information session was held online, where the approachable LISS Social Assistants answered any queries that we had. With airplane tickets bought, luggage packed and a heart bubbling with excitement, I stepped on UK soil a few days prior to the commencement of LISS.

The first few days of solo travelling around the UK was an optional choice made by me. These few days allowed me to get a sense of how the public transport system worked. On the day of the commencement of LISS, transportation was provided from selected airports to the University of Leeds. Thereafter, keys to our rooms were provided and we were informed of a welcome party happening later that night.

Classes then commenced after we settled down from the hustle and bustle. Classes were usually held on weekdays from 9am – 12.30pm, which allowed us ample time for both in-class learning as well as short trips after classes. Personally, I was grateful for this arrangement as I took the initiative to plan many fun activities such as strawberry picking and even hiking in places near Leeds. In addition, classes were often inclusive of fieldtrips to various locations around the UK. I studied 2 modules namely: ‘’Country Houses’’ and ‘’Business Ethics’’, which were in completely unfamiliar fields for an Engineering student. The teachers were friendly and approachable, and were always ready to provide assistance for the assignments. In fact, I was elated to know that I scored an A/B for the modules!

On weekends, we were left to our devices. Many of us planned trips to incredible places such as Knaresborough, or even other countries such as Scotland, Germany, and Austria. This allowed us to forge strong bonds with other students outside of classes, as we traverse unfamiliar places together. In fact, even months after LISS, many of us still keep in contact with each other despite geographical constraints. Here are some pictures of my amazing friends!

Lastly, the social events hosted by the Social Assistants are also noteworthy and very, very fun! Sometimes we had cozy movie nights, while other times we went out to local well-known pubs for social drinking. In fact, at the end of the 4 weeks of LISS, I can almost claim to know Leeds at the back of my hand!

All in all, even as I am writing this in 2024, I can truly say that LISS has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. The friends, places, experiences, and memories made will has definitely shaped me into a better and stronger person.

Lastly, here are some pictures of the amazing friends I made. Look how happy we were!


Leave a comment