What to Expect During Your First Month at Leeds

Blog Post by Brianna Hintz

The days spent with my family prior to Leeds included avoidance of packing, thinking, or talking about leaving.

As much as I was excited to go, I was nervous. I had never flown internationally alone before–was scared my luggage would get lost, or even worse–that I would get lost.

Yet, here is what I’ve learned from my first month of studying abroad at the University of Leeds:

Have Confidence

I was consistently told prior to travelling to have confidence, but that is definitely easier said than done. I advise you to think of yourself and your abilities–your intelligence, perseverance, and bravery, all qualities that are reflected in your journey abroad! If an issue were to arise, have confidence that you are able to solve it! Google Maps is a great resource–airport staff/train station staff when travelling are super friendly, so don’t be afraid to ask for help!

Rewiring my brain to view a struggle as a ‘challenge’ has been super beneficial. This goes for flight anxiety, arrival, trouble finding classes, the list goes on!

Adjustment Period

You may experience an adjustment period when you arrive abroad, and it varies for everyone. For me, the jetlag and reality of being abroad did not hit until about a week in–for others, it set in early. The important thing to remember is these feelings of fear do not define you–I guarantee you will feel better by exploring campus–go on a walk, partake in an activity you love or something which reminds you of home. The first thing I did was take a walk to find a nice coffee shop!

Classes

Your classes are an opportunity to learn about the differences between your home country and England. Take advantage, and do not be afraid to speak your mind! I am a Marketing major at my home university, and I have loved learning about adapting brand identities cross-culturally and now have a strong interest in working in international business. You discover these things from being involved rather than being passive in class.

Making Friends

I was nervous about navigating dorm life and making friends. Yet, people are overwhelmingly kind, and will even go out of their way to lend a helping hand. I have met friends in planes, taxis, the dining hall, classes, and beyond! It is such an enriching experience to have friends from different backgrounds who are able to introduce you to their culture and whom you can learn so much from.

Travel, Travel, Travel

For my last piece of advice– travel when you can! With the Leeds City Centre and train station in walking distance, travel is easy. As for destinations–I personally love York and London, but the sky’s the limit! Once again, Google Maps is your best friend! If you are feeling homesick, or want a way to connect with family and friends at home, I would recommend sending postcards. It is a great way to reflect on your travels, as well as provide your loved ones with a keepsake!


Leave a comment